ZILDJIAN

"Zil" means "cymbal" in Turkish and "-dji" combined with "-ian" form a perfect family name for an Armenian cymbal manufacturer family during the Ottoman Empire. It was at the beginning of the 17th century that the alchemist Avedis discovered a special alloy of metals that produced a sound adapted to the army, religious houses and festivals, while allowing to make very good music. The Ottoman sultan gave Avedis the name "Zildjian" as well as 80 gold coins. Thus, Zildjian, the cymbal manufacturing company has its origins in Constantinople in the year 1623.

A few hundred years passed before the family business moved to Massachusetts crossing the Atlantic Ocean, where the name Zildjian has since enjoyed great success. The company now has over 65% of the cymbal market. We immediately recognize the company's distinct logo on cymbals and other percussion equipment, instruments visible from local auditoriums to the biggest rock concerts.

After fifteen generations, the Zildjian family is still in charge of the company, which is now headed by the first female CEO since 1999. It is one of the oldest businesses in the world as well as one of the most old family businesses in the world, and certainly the same in America. Zildjian society always keeps secret the formula of the alloy which for the first time did not leave indifferent neither the royalty, nor the people about four hundred years ago.

Source and attribution: By Kim2480 (Personal work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

ZILDJIAN

Information

Specials

ZILDJIAN

« Zil » veut dire « cymbale » en turc et le « -dji » combiné avec le « -ian » forment un nom de famille parfait pour une famille arménienne de fabricants de cymbales durant l’Empire Ottoman. C’est au début du 17e siècle que l’alchimiste appelé Avedis découvrit un alliage spécial de métaux qui produit un son adapté à l’armée, aux maisons religieuses et aux fêtes, tout en permettant de faire de la très bonne musique. Le sultan ottoman a donné à Avedis le nom de « Zildjian » ainsi que 80 pièces d’or. Ainsi , Zildjian, la société de fabrication de cymbales trouve ses origines à Constantinople en l’an 1623.

Quelques trois cent ans se sont écoulés avant que l’entreprise familiale ne déménage au Massachusetts en traversant l’océan Atlantique, où le nom Zildjian a depuis connu un grand succès. La société possède aujourd’hui plus de 65% du marché des cymbales. On reconnait tout de suite le logo bien distinct de la société sur des cymbales et autres équipements de percussion, instruments visibles des auditoriums locaux aux plus grands concerts de rock.

Après quinze générations, la famille Zildjian s’occupe toujours de la société, dirigée actuellement par la première femme PDG depuis 1999. C’est l’un des plus anciens business en tant que tel dans le monde, ainsi que l’une des plus anciennes entreprises familiales dans le monde, et certainement de même en Amérique. La société Zildjian garde toujours secrète ​​la formule de l’alliage qui pour la première fois n’avait pas laissé indifférent ni la royauté, ni le peuple il y a de cela environ quatre cent ans.

Source et attribution : Par Kim2480 (Travail personnel) [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

ZILDJIAN

Informations

Promotions